MILAN FASHION WEEK

January 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

For a week, we saw some of the biggest names in fashion show their collections in the italian city, Milan. Crowded by the fashion industry favorites, celebrities and of course, the media, the week looked promising. Unfortunately, I was more disappointed than satisfied. It felt as though major fashion houses fell short of ideas and inspiration (Burberry prorsum, D&g, Gucci, Versace …). I am not a downcast person and I do not harbor negative attitudes … for long. While some shows were uninspiring, boring, incomprehensible others were simply breathtaking.

ALEXANDER McQUEEN

Sarah Burton’s effortlessness was one of the highlights of MFW. It was obvious that every piece told a story.

VIVIENNE WESTWOOD

I was quite suprised by this collection. I expected to see more ‘punk’ as usual but didn’t. I must say that I am pleasantly surprised. This collection reflects how unpredictable Vivienne could be. I love the color palette, I love the high waisted pants, I love the lipstick which in my opinion shows the romantic side of the clothes and of course, I love the ‘boyfriend’ concept. In short, I loved it all.

COSTUME NATIONAL

Without a doubt, Costume National was one of my favorites of this FW. I most definitely fell under the charm of the sombre/chic/romantic boyfriend concept. The cut of the coats were done sophisticatedly. Costume National is one to watch out for.

TRUSSARDI 1911

Rock & Roll is back in business thanks to Trussardi.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading MILAN FASHION WEEK at For the love of fashion.

meta

