Picture me ; a model’s diary

December 22, 2010 § 3 Comments

 

I’m pretty sure every ‘fashionable’ person has heard about this movie but just for those who haven’t, I’m going to talk about it.

Whenever someone says the word ‘model’, we immediately think of models like Sasha P., Freja Beha, Naomi Campbell, Anja Rubik, etc … we think about models who’ve made it in the industry. But what do we know about unexperienced models? What happens behind the campaigns, photoshoots, runway shows?

Picture me, a film by model Sara Ziff reveals the unknown or should I say ‘the already known but deniable). This documentary which started out as a video diary talks about the exploitation that takes place behind the camera.

I can’t exactly give an objective review considering the fact that I haven’t seen it yet. The movie hasn’t come to Belgium and I don’t know if it will.

Good and bad things have been said about this documentary. We’ll start with the bad.

In this “poor me, I was a supermodel; now I’m a Columbia student” documentary, Sara Ziff, who began her career at the tender age of 14, records the highs and lows of her success. Over several years of footage shot by her co-director, Ole Schell, Ms. Ziff’s callow narration (“Nothing comes that quickly or easily without a catch”) guides us through runway triumphs and a bathtub breakdown, girly dishing and teary confessions.

NYtimes

On to a good one :

There have been any number of behind-the-scenes documentaries on the world of fashion, but Ole Schell and Sara Ziff’s revealing and engaging “Picture Me” must surely be unique. Schell was a recent film school graduate when Ziff, his girlfriend, decided to forsake college to pursue a career as a fashion model. The two filmed a diary of her experiences, covering a period of five or six years during which we witness her evolving attitudes about herself and her profession in a succinct and vibrant film.

LAtimes

§ 3 Responses to Picture me ; a model’s diary

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Picture me ; a model’s diary at For the love of fashion.

meta

